Louder Than Sound

louderthansound.jpg

I remember the time I fell in love with the local music scene.  I had enjoyed watching bands like Wolfgang, Sandwich, and Greyhoundz years before in high school but I had never actively sought out gigs or felt that hunger to listen to something new; until one day a friend called and asked me if I wanted to check out a punk band that she was managing at the time. It was a long way away.  At the time I was living in the south and I barely even knew how to get to Katipunan.  I contemplated not going. I thought about just staying in and playing video games, but eventually curiosity got a hold of me.  I was a huge NOFX and Bad Religion fan as a kid and I had missed watching a punk band.  So I went.  Later that night I found myself in KAFE watching Boy Elroy enjoying the crap out of myself. I was hooked.  It was the bar. It was the people.  It was the atmosphere.  Everyone was friendly, everyone was excited to be there, and no one felt out of place.  That was the start of it all.  A 13 year adventure through the highs and lows of the local independent scene that quite literally changed my life.  It was that moment when I fell in love with the community, and it was that moment when it embraced me in return. I picked up a camera and started shooting gigs, eventually falling in love with photography.  It was the music community that was there for me through the highs and the lows. From celebrating birthdays at a show with loved ones, to nursing a broken heart; it was always there. Every step of the way.  I made so many friends, and made so many memories.

And it all goes back to that one night when I decided to make the drive from Alabang to Katipunan.  Sometimes I wonder what my life would have been like if I hadn’t gone to that gig.  But then I realize I’m better not knowing.  That it was this music community that made me who I am today.

I am Carlo Casas, music photographer; and this is my Louder Than Sound Story.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

